Letters by Deepa
Letters by Deepa
No. 10 | Listen to: Summer whites
1
0:00
-6:59

No. 10 | Listen to: Summer whites

His shirt was the skin I belonged in, an identity that made me feel special
1

With Father’s Day coming up this weekend, I decided to record a short personal essay I wrote as a tribute to my father, Amitabha Paul.

He was called Gandhi by his family in India, Paul by his colleagues and friends, but to us he will always be Daddy.

Listen to it here. Or if you like, read the full essay on my website.

Here in Amsterdam summer is in full swing. I’m surprised by how much a decade in Europe has changed me: I’m wilting and find myself unable to write at 28 degrees, even if I grew up in a climate that was hotter and much more humid.

Sizzling bike saddles, balcony dinners, chilled and slightly fizzy red wines, and refreshing canal dips (as often as I can manage) mark my days. And always, the scent of roses as I bike around town. I hope you are enjoying yours, and that the coming summer (for this is only a prelude) brings growth, expansion and joy.

Thank you for listening (or reading)!

Did you listen or read, or both? I’m trying to figure out if I should do more of these audio episodes, and would love to know if you enjoy them.

Do you have a special article of clothing or jewelry that holds memories of someone dear to you? I would love to hear about it.

Special thanks to Conor Vella, still life photographer and plastic artist by day, sound engineer and co-conspirator by night, who stayed up late to record this on the hottest day of the year.

Letters by Deepa is a bi-weekly newsletter by Deepa Paul. Click here to subscribe.

1 Comment
Letters by Deepa
Letters by Deepa
Filipina-Indian writer Deepa Paul narrates personal essays on people, places, and moments that matter. Sometimes good friends show up to read, too.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Deepa Paul